North Tipperary GAA News – September 9th 2014

By Liam Hogan PRO

Three North Finals is down to two for Weekend September 14


The Hibernian Inn North Tipperary Senior Hurling final between Burgess and Nenagh Eire Og will go ahead as planned next Sunday week September 14 at MacDonagh Park Nenagh throw in 3.30pm. Nenagh Eire Og go in search of their eighth title having won their latest in 2009. The Nenagh Eire Og club came together in 1952 when Nenagh and Saint Marys amalgamated. Nenagh, on their own, won a title in 1915.

The early years produced a number of different clubs in Burgess parish also. Youghalarra won a North senior final in 1909. However Burgess as we know it now has never been successful on North senior final day but they appeared in the 2008 final when losing to Kildangan. On the other hand, Burgess have 14 North Intermediate wins to their name their last in 2005.

Intermediate Final Postponed

Due to the drawn All-Ireland the Denis Meats North Tipperary Intermediate Hurling final between Ballinahinch and Newport will be postponed till a later date. This is due to Shane McGrath’s and Conor O’Mahony’s involvement with Tipperary.


Yes the Watch Centre Junior A Hurling final between Kildangan and Nenagh Eire Og will be played on Saturday in Templederry at 4.00pm. Both teams reached the North final as a result of semi final wins over Roscrea and Kilruane MacDonaghs respectively. See result section.

The Watch Centre Junior B Hurling Quarter Finals

Weekend 21st September: Toomevara v Nenagh Eire Og
Weekend 21st September: Kildangan v Newport
Lorrha and Portroe are through to the semi finals.

The Ger Gavin North Tipperary Minor A Hurling

The Ger Gavin North Tipperary Minor A Hurling championship has a new name on the roll of honour. Newport Gaels defeated Toomevara in a splendid final last Saturday. Newport Gaels become the 14th team to win the grade joining Roscrea (31 titles) Nenagh Eire Og (17), Toomevara (15), Kilruane MacDonaghs (8), Saint Marys Nenagh (4), Nenagh (3), Youghalarra (2), Burgess (1), Ballina (1), Eirns Hope (1), Silvermines (1), Borrisokane/Rovers (1), Templederry (1).

The Ger Gavin North Tipperary Minor B Hurling Championship

Kildangan bridged a gap of eleven years when they defeated Silvermines in an entertaining North Minor B final at Cloughjordan last Saturday. It was their fourth title following wins in 1982, 1998 and 2003.

Kildangan join Silvermines and Ballina on four, two behind Burgess on six. Twelve other teams have won the title including Lorrha, Borris-Ileigh, Moneygall and Templederry on three each; Portroe and Toomevara on two each; Shannon Rovers Gaels, Newport, Ballina/Ballinahinch, Shannon Rovers, Eirns Hope and Kilruane MacDonaghs on one each.

Junior Football

Only four clubs (Shannon Rovers, Lorrha, Inane Rovers and Ballina) expressed an interest in representing the division in the County Junior Football Championship. The draw for the qualifying competition is as follows: Ballina v Shannon Rovers; Inane Rovers v Lorrha and the games will be played next Saturday 13th Sept. The winners of those two games will represent North Tipp in the County Championship

Under-21 Hurling

To commence at a later date.