Munster Under 17 Football (Daryl Darcy Cup) – Tipperary 5-10 Limerick 4-8

Rathkeale, Monday October 20th

Having fought hard before finally getting the better of last years winners Clare by the minimum margin in a low scoring opening round and followed it up with an emphatic eighteen point margin victory (3-15 to 0-6) over Waterford in round two, Tipperarys U17 Footballers kept their unbeaten run intact to qualify for the Munster Final for the Daryl Darcy Cup following a five point victory over Limerick at Mick Neville Park Rathkeale on Monday night last on a score line of 5-10 to 4-8.


Showing nine changes in personnel from the starting team against Waterford last week Tipp still seemed well equipped to continue on their winning ways and were first to strike inside the opening minute with points each by Jordan Moloney and Jamie Bergin to get the scoring underway.

Helped by the strong wind Tipp continued to make the constant possession pay off and following some slick passing movements Lyndon Fairbrother and Cathal O’Mahoney both found the net while Dara Egan landed a long range point putting Tipp very much in the driving seat with ten minutes gone.
A converted penalty kept Limerick in touch but points by corner forward Jack Delahunty (2) and one each by Emmett Moloney and Dara Egan saw Tipperary deservedly lead at the break, 2-7 to 1-2.
Two minutes into the second half Tipp had stretched the lead to twelve points with a Dara Egan point and a cracking goal by Jack Delahunty but with Limerick now playing with the wind and with the Tipp defence having to soak up some pressure, they lost their shape and by the twentieth minute Limerick had cut the deficit to a single point hitting back with 3-2.

But Tipp regrouped to stem the tide and were soon back on track in the closing eight minutes as Jack Delahunty who proved a real thorn in the Limerick defence burst through for two more goals and also added a pointed free for good measure while Limerick who never gave up on the night completed their scoring with three further points.

Overall given the unavailability of a number of the Tipp panel it was nevertheless a good all round performance and can look forward with a degree of confidence to the Munster Final where they will renew rivalry with Clare on Monday evening next (October 27th) at 7pm in the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick.

Final score, Tipperary 5-10 Limerick 4-8

Tipperary, Ger Mockler (Clonoulty/Rossmore), Jamie Moriarty (Gortnahoe/Glengoole), Shane Power (Galtee Rvs), Cian Flanagan (Newport), Jack Butler (Upperchurch/Drombane), Cathal O’Mahoney (St. Patricks) 1-0, Padraig Feehan (Killenaule), Aiden Buckley (St. Patricks), Dara Egan (Galtee Rvs) 0-3, Emmett Moloney (Drom/Inch) 0-1, Conor Clancy (St. Patricks), Jamie Bergin (Drom/Inch) 0-1, Lyndon Fairbrother (JKBrackens) 1-0, Jordan Moloney (JKBrackens) 0-1, Jack Delahunty (Newport) 3-4.
Subs: Mick Gohery (Borrisokane) for Jordan Moloney, Jack Cleary (Moycarkey Borris) for Lyndon Fairbrother), Kevin Connelly (Newport ) for M. Gohery.

Other panellists included, Caolan Hennessy (Cappawhite), Sean Moloney (Moyne Templetuohy), Robert Byrne (Portroe), Cathal Hennessy (Boherlahan Dualla).

Tommy Fitzgerald on behalf of Tipperary U17 Football.