Galway v Tipp

All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Qualifiers Round 1 – Tipperary 3-25 Galway 4-13

Tipperary defeated Galway by 3-25 to 4-13 in Round 1 of the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Qualifiers on Saturday at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Click to view video highlights from the game via Sky Sports


Report from the web site

Eamon O’Shea secured a first championship victory as Tipperary senior hurling manager in Thurles with victory over Galway on Saturday evening.

O’Shea’s battling Premier County came from six points down to beat Galway by nine in a quite remarkable All-Ireland qualifier, played out in front of 18,467 spectators.Galway Tipp

When Galway sub Davy Glennon fired over a 51st minute point, a score that followed two clinical Johnny Glynn goals, Galway were 4-12 to 1-15 clear and in the driving seat. But in the remaining 19 minutes, plus stoppage time, Tipp outscored their opponents by 2-10 to 0-1.

Seamus Callanan scored Tipp’s two goals down the home straight and when the dust settled, the Drom & Inch hitman had posted a total of 3-8. John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer was excellent too for Tipperary as he finished with 0-6 from play and Noel McGrath chipped in with 0-5 from play. McGrath was quite magnificent in the second half, popping up with big scores and providing leadership when Tipp needed it most.

And 2010 Hurler of the Year Lar Corbett also played his part, landing two superb scores from the New Stand side of Semple Stadium into the Town End.

Ironically, Corbett was set to be replaced by Jason Forde before he caught fire but Tipp would go on to claim a first championship win since the 2012 Munster final.

At half-time, the sides were level at 2-9 to 1-12, with Callanan netting for Tipp in the 13th minute. That followed Galway’s opening goal of the game, scored by Jason Flynn in the fourth minute, after he took a pass from creator Glynn. Galway nudged in front approaching half-time when David Burke touched home a long Iarla Tannian delivery but Tipp recovered to restore parity at the midway point.
Scorers for Tipperary: S Callanan 3-8 (0-7f), J O’Dwyer 0-6, N McGrath 0-5, L Corbett 0-2, J Woodlock, Patrick Maher, K Bergin & S McGrath 0-1 each.
Scorers for Galway: J Glynn 2-0, J Canning 0-5 (1 sl), C Cooney 0-4f, C Mannion 0-2, P Brehony & D Glennon 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; P Stapleton, Padraic Maher, M Cahill; B Maher, J Barry, C Barrett; R Maher, J Woodlock; G Ryan, Patrick Maher, N McGrath; J O’Dwyer, S Callanan, L Corbett
Subs: K Bergin for R Maher (HT), S McGrath for G Ryan (69), J O’Brien for Corbett (70+2).

GALWAY: C Callanan; F Moore, R Burke, D Collins; I Tannian, Daithi Burke, J Coen; A Smith, P Brehony; David Burke, J Canning, C Mannion; J Flynn, C Cooney, J Glynn
Subs: J Cooney for Brehony (h.t.), D Glennon for David Burke (HT), A Harte for Smith (46), N Burke for Tannian (58), D Hayes for Mannion (68).
Referee: C Lyons (Cork)