1509906147022.jpg premier league  thurles town edge a crucial clash with nenagh celtic

Tipperary Soccer Round Up

NT&DL Tipperary Cup Semi Final

Thurles Town 3-4 Nenagh Celtic

Scorers: Oisín Duffy, Aidan Keenan, Eoin Byrne (pen); Danny Ryan (pen), Jimmy Hynes, Mark Walsh (2)

Thurles Town will have tomake do with another cupless season after Nenagh Celtic ran out deserved winners in the Greyhound Stadium in Thurles. Duffy and Keenan had put the hosts two goals to the good with two fantastic free kicks but a Danny Ryan penalty halved the deficit before half time. Jimmy hynes levelled proceedings early in the second half and a brace from Marky Walsh ended the game as a contest before Eoin Byrne converted an injury time penalty.

NT&DL Division 1

Holycross Fc 3-1 Lough Derg

Scorers: John King, Dan Corbett, Kevin O’Dwyer; Emmett Lyons

Holycross were crowned NT&DL Division 1 champions after recovering from a goal down to beat a tough Lough Derg side. Emmett Lyons had put the away side ahead with a speculative effort some forty yards out before John King equalised for the hosts. Further goals from Dan Corbett and Kevin O’Dwyer were enough to seal the title despite the best efforts of Derg keeper Oisín Conacur who made a string of very important saves.

FAI Senior Cup

Leeds (Cork) 3-1 St Micheal’s

Scorer: Joey Mulcahy

Saints comtinued their poor cup form as of later after surrendering a one goal lead in the last ten minutes of this tie. Joey Mulcahy had the away side a goal to the good at half time but three goals in the last ten minutes from the hosts ended Saints hopes.

TSDL Division 3

Kilmanahan Utd 2-1 Moyglass

Scorers: Derek Hooper, Seamie Greene

Kilmanahan secured the league title after coming from behind to beat Moyglass. The away side too the lead twenty six minutes in but a deflected Derek Hooper effort levelled proceedings. United were given a huge chance to secure the title ten minutes from time when Darren Guiry was feled in the area, Seamie Greene stepped up and blasted the ball home to secure the hosts first title in twelve years.

Ballyneale 3-1 Two Mile Borris B

Scorers: Damien McCarthy (2), Jamie Kennedy

Ballyneale will play Division two football next season after a convincing 3-1 winover Two Mile Borris B. They now have an unassailable lead in second place and will consider this to be a hugely successful season.

TSDL Division 1

Cahir Park 2-1 Rosegreen Rangers

Scorers: Shane O’Neill, Benny Ryan

Cahir park continued their stride for the TSDL Division 1 title after a hard fought win against top of the table Rosegreen. Shane O’Neill put the hosts ahead before they were pegged back before the break. The hosts were to win it though as Benny Ryan grabbed the all important winner in the second half.

TSDL Division 1

St Micheal’s 4-1 Cashel Town

Scorers: Rodrigo Concalves, DJ Cremins, Evan Hanrahan, Danny O’Brien

Saints won this relegation battle with ease as they now look safe to stay in Division 1 for another year. Cashel, however, need to win their last two if they are to have a chance of survival one would feel as Galbally look to be relegated barring a miracle at this point.

Waterford & District Premier Division

Ferrybank Afc 1-1 Carrick Utd

Scorer: Jack Doherty

Carrick Utd’s Jack Doherty saved his sides title hopes with a goal three minutes from time to salvage a point against top of the table Ferrybank.

Limerick District League Division 1B

Newport Town Afc 4-2 Regional Utd

Scorers: Mark McGuire 2, Devlin Courtney, Kieran McCarthy