This Friday night, November 4th, the GAA/GPA All-Star Awards for 2016 will be handed out at a ceremony in the Convention Centre with Tipperary fully represented in the hurling category and also well in the mix in the football equivalent. We send best wishes to all our players who did both themselves and the county proud with their achievements this year.
The Tipperary players nominated in hurling are the starting fifteen in the All-Ireland Hurling Final, who are in case anyone needs reminding; Darren Gleeson (Portroe), Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields), Seamus Kennedy (St. Marys), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields) Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh), Michael Breen (Ballina), Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh), Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha), Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), John O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch) and John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney).
For the prestigious Hurler of the Year, Tipperary has two of the three nominations in Seamus Callanan and Padraic Maher.
Young Hurler of the Year nominee is Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields).
There are five Tipperary players among the football nominations; Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers), Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers), Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials) and Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen).
Young Footballer of the Year nominees are Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle) and Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule).