Categories: GAASports
| On 2 years ago


By Ben Nallen

Best wishes to the Tipperary minor football team who play Kerry in the Electric Ireland Munster Championship Quarter-Final this Wednesday night, April 11th in Semple Stadium where throw-in is at 7pm. The team lines out as follows; Callan Scully (Nenagh Éire Óg), Tommy McDonagh (Cahir), Shane Lowe (Moyne-Templetuohy), Christy McDonagh (Cahir), Mark O Meara (Capt.) (Grangemockler-Ballyneale), Kevin Hayes (Moycarkey-
Borris), Johnny Ryan (Arravale Rovers), Billy Murphy (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Keith Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane), Max Hackett (Moycarkey-Borris), Alan Flannery (Galtee Rovers), Devon Ryan (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), Christy English (Ballyporeen), Kyle Shelly (Vice Capt.) (Moycarkey-Borris) and Eddie Daly (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams). The subs are – Cian O Mahony (Ardfinnan), John O Sullivan (Galtee
Rovers), Conor Power (Ballina), Gavin Meagher (Inane Rovers), Conor Whelan (Mullinahone), Rhys Byron (Galtee Rovers), Jamie Holloway (Carrick Swan), Dylan Farrelly (Clerihan) and Seán Ó Connor (Clonmel Commercials). Extended panel players are Killian Fitzgerald, Donagh Hickey (both Arravale Rovers), Kevin Moore (Inane Rovers), Kieran Costello, Paddy Creedon, Joe Dwan (all Durlas Óg), Joey Lyonsn(Grangemockler-Ballyneale) and Jake Kiely (Cahir).

The panel have worked hard under the guidance of manager Matt O Doherty (Arravale Rovers), coach Benny
Hickey (Cahir), selectors – Viv Downey (Upperchurch-Drombane), James Boland (Inane Rovers), Johnny Nevin
(JK Brackens), strength and conditioning coaches Jason Coffey (Ardfinnan) and Mark Butler (Loughmore-
Castleiney) and physio Tomás Ryan (Moycarkey-Borris) and will be eager to get off to a winning start in what
is always a difficult task against Kerry as the first of the Munster Championships gets under way.

Wednesday’s winner will play the winner of the Cork/Waterford game in one Munster semi-final. The loser will play the loser of Limerick/Clare in a playoff match. The winners of this will then play the loser of Cork/Waterford for a place in the Munster semi-final against the winners of Limerick/Clare.

The referee on Wednesday will be Donnacha O’Callaghan (Limerick).

Ben Nallen