Categories: GAA
| On 5 years ago

West Tipperary GAA Scene – February 12th 2016

By Press Release

West U21 Football Championships:
The McGrath Oil West U21B Football championship game was due to commence on Sunday last but the game was postponed. The action starts in both groups this Sunday February 14th. In Group 1 Cappawhite/Treacys and Cashel KC meet in Dundrum at 12 noon. Golden/K and Clonoulty/R get Group 2 up and running when they meet in Sean Treacy Park at 12 noon.

The U21A Football championship starts this Sunday February 14th when Arravale Rovers and Rockwell/Rosegreen meet in Golden at 12 noon. Arravale Rovers were West Minor A champions three years ago while Rockwell/Rosegreen were West Minor B champions.

County Intermediate Hurling Championship:
The draw for the group stages of the County Intermediate Hurling championship took place on Wednesday last.

Group 1 will see Sean Treacys and Arravale Rovers meet in what will be the first of two meetings this year having being drawn against each other in the West quarter final. They will be joined in the Group by Moyle Rovers and Boherlahan who have come down from Senior Hurling.

Cappawhite and Rockwell Rovers have both been drawn in Group 2 where they will be joined by 2015 County Junior A champions Roscrea and 2015 South finalists St Marys.

Group 3 is one of the groups of three which will see Galtee Rovers and Lattin/Cullen Gaels meet in what will be a dress rehearsal for their West quarter final clash. They will be joined in the group by Moycarkey/Borris.

Cashel King Cormacs have been drawn in Group 5 which is also a group of three. They will be joined by Shannon Rovers and 2015 North finalists Ballinahinch.

Golden/Kilfeacle are in group 6 along with 2015 North champions Newport which is a repeat of last year’s County quarter final. They will be joined in the group by 2015 Mid champions Drom & Inch and 2015 South champions Kilsheelan/Kilcash.

The top two teams in each group will qualify for the knockout stages of the competition.

Munster Junior B Hurling Final:
Eire Og Annacarty Donohill will take on Shanballymore of Cork in the replay of the Munster Junior B Hurling final this Sunday February 14th at 2pm in Killeedy. Admission is €5 for everyone.

The winners will play Barrow Rangers in the All Ireland semi-final while the defeated team will take on Leinster champions Tynagh/AbbeyDuniry in the other semi-final. The All Ireland semi-finals are scheduled for Sunday February 28th in Killeedy.


Abbey CBS:
Congratulations to the Abbey CBS Tipperary town on their extra-time victory over Glanmire in the Corn Thomais Mhic Choilm U181/2 B Hurling semi final in Ballyagran on Saturday last February 6th. They will play either Chroist Ri or Mitchelstown CBS in the final.

Cashel Community School:
Match reports from Cashel Community Schools recent games can be found on the following link

At the recent West Board Adjourned Convention the West Chairman asked clubs to provide more referees. He asked that any club who does not have a referee at present to provide at least one name and they will be provided the relevant training on the upcoming referee’s course.

Well done to Fergal Horgan (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams) and his team of officials who took charge of the All Ireland Senior Club Hurling semi-final on Saturday last in Semple Stadium between Na Piarsaigh and Oulart the Ballagh.

Press Release