Categories: GAA
| On 4 years ago

Tipperary GAA Scene – Jan 26

By Press Release

by PRO Joe Bracken.


In a senior hurling fundraiser for the Little Flower National School, Ballytarsna, held in Boherlahan on Sunday last January 24th, Tipperary cruised to a 7-29 to 06 win over Mary Immaculate College as Michael Ryan and his management team continue preparations ahead of the opening Allianz Hurling League tie against Dublin on February 13th.


In the Peter McNulty Cup (U21Leinster League) Tipperary defeated Carlow in the Shield Semi-Final last Saturday, January 23rd, by 0-13 to 0-08 to progress to the Shield Final where they will meet Down on Saturday next, January 30th, with venue to be confirmed, please check for update.

It was a 2 point deficit which excluded Tommy Toomey’s side from reaching the Cup semi-final so a crack at Down will prove a real tester and we send best wishes to the team ahead of Saturday’s Shield Final.


Congratulations to High School Clonmel following their 1-11 to 1-8 victory over Colaiste Cholim Ballincollig in last week’s Munster GAA Post Primary Schools Corn Ui Mhuiri Under 18 ½ A Football competition. For the first time in living memory, there are four different counties represented in the Corn Ui Mhuiri semi-finals as St. Brendans Killarney (Kerry) take on St. Flannans (Clare) while High School Clonmel will play St. Francis College Rochestown (Cork). These semi-finals are fixed for Saturday week February 6th – more on this in next week’s GAA Scene.


Next week Tipperary Schools are in Cusack Shield football action, with all games on Tuesday, February 2nd, bar one throwing in at 12.30pm, fixtures are as follows while venues have yet to be confirmed;
Colaiste Mhuire Durlas v Fethard Secondary School, Thurles C.B.S v Comeragh College, Colaiste Dun Iascaigh v Scoil Ruain Killenaule, Newport College v Presentation Ballingarry, Carrick on Suir C.B.S. v Rockwell College, Nenagh C.B.S. v Cashel C.S. and Scoil Phobal Roscrea v Colaiste Cluain Meala at 1.30pm. On Wednesday, February 3rd there is one fixture where St. Joseph’s Borrisoleigh meet Thurles C.B.S. at 12.30pm.


The 51st presentation of the Annerville Awards by the United Sports Panel took place in the Clonmel Park Hotel on Saturday last. Among the 18 winners, there was a number of recipients from the GAA world as follows – Seamus Callanan (Hurling), Seamus Kennedy (Gaelic Football), Sinead Meagher (Camogie) and Cait Devane (Camogie). Jimmy Collins of the St. Mary’s Clonmel club won the Lifetime Achievement Award while the Sean Lyons Sports Executive award went to Charlie McGeever, manager of the Clonmel Commercials and Tipperary Minor Football teams in 2015. Finally, the Knocknagow Award was presented to Borris-Ileigh and Tipperary hurling legend Liam Devaney. Congratulations to all the winners.


A welcome addition to the awards scene in Tipperary, the Nenagh Guardian Sports Awards saw 12 monthly winners presented with their awards in Nenagh last Friday night. Amongst the winners were the Tipperary U21 football team who secured the April award, Sinead Meagher a Nenagh Éire Óg handballer took home the August gong while the October award went to the Burgess/Duharra Senior Camogie team.

The highlight of the awards was the induction of Donie Nealon as the first member of the Hall of Fame, a worthy recipient of this award, again congratulations to all the recipients.


Last week GAA President, Aogán Ó Fearghail launched a new season of the Laochra Gael series for TG4 which will include the unmistakeable Eoin Kelly, Tipperary’s top scorer. The Mullinahone native served his county with distinction over a long career and all Tipperary supporters will be watching out for his featured programme which goes on air at 5:55pm on Sunday, March 27th next. There will be a repeat showing on Monday at 8pm on TG4.

Press Release