Home GAA Tipperary Minor Footballers – 2016 Championship Year

Tipperary Minor Footballers – 2016 Championship Year


Here too the success of 2015 was going to be a hard act to follow, but little did anyone know that the Munster Minor Championship would be over in eight days for Tipperary.

It was on April 13th that Tipperary took to the field against Cork in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Quarter -Final in Pairc Ui Rinn and despite a superb Tipperary performance they had to leave for home with a defeat on their hands, 1-14 to 1-11. Showing tremendous fitness and character Tipperary having gone behind in both the first and second half, dominated in certain areas and in particular midfield where Ben Hyland (Fr. Sheehy’s) and Conor Cashman (Cahir) were excellent, so much so that their respective markers were replaced. Cashman netted Tipp’s goal following great work by John Lyons (Grangemockler-Ballyneale). Elsewhere, Colin English (Fr. Sheehy’s) also starred for Mick O’Sullivan’s side that had to regroup quickly as Limerick the other quarter-final losers were coming to Semple Stadium to meet Tipp in play-off 1 the following week.

That game was one which didn’t go to plan at all for Tipp as Limerick saw off the Premier challenge 3-8 to 0-11 to unfortunately send last year’s All-Ireland finalists packing for this year.

It is never easy going out at any stage in a championship and in what was probably a difficult result to take; all will hopefully come back eager, wiser and stronger in the year ahead benefitting from that experience.

Under the watch of manager Mick O’Sullivan (Drom & Inch), Matt Doherty (Arravale Rovers), Johnny Nevin (JK Brackens) and Jason Coffey (Ardfinnan) the team prepared well and gave their all but it wasn’t to be.

So that brings a close to 2016, hopefully you’ve enjoyed this look back as we all look forward to hopefully more of the same in 2017.