Home GAA Senior Football Championship

Senior Football Championship


Aherlow Gaels are the West Senior Football Champions for 2016 courtesy of a 2-12 to 1-6 victory over Galtee Rovers on Sunday last. Aherlow last won this title back in 2010 and have captured the West SFC title 8 occasions. The first back in 1968 was under the guise of St.Ailbies as Emly and Aherlow combined to win the West title for the first time. The Aherlow club won the title in their own right in 1997 before the club’s most successful era from 2005 to 2010 when 5 West titles were captured along with 2 County Senior Football crowns in 2006 and 2010, both captained by Mark O’Brien. The Aherlow Gaels are currently a combination of Aherlow and Lattin-Cullen, the latter of whom are no strangers to Football success in the past. In all, Lattin-Cullen won the West Senior Football title on 10 occasions, including 4 titles in a row back in the 1960s while their last West SFC title came back in 1994. Aherlow Gaels will now play Drom & Inch in the County Senior Football Championship on Wednesday October 5th at 8pm in Clonoulty.
The last senior football divisional final goes ahead on Sunday as the South Final goes ahead in Kilsheelan at 3pm between Clonmel Commercials and Cahir.
For a full round up of all fixtures and results across the Premier County please view the county website at http://tipperary.gaa.ie


Please enter your comment!

* Checkbox GDPR is required


I agree

Please enter your name here