Home Kilruane Kilruane MacDonaghs AGM

Kilruane MacDonaghs AGM


A large attendance, including a healthy sprinkling of players, assembled in the clubroom on last Friday night, 9th December for the Annual General Meeting.

Prior to the meeting, Fr. Michael Geraghty celebrated the annual Mass for deceased members in Cloughjordan Church. In an informative and concise report, which was available in booklet form to all present, secretary, Mary McLoughney and assistant secretary, Gilbert Williams reviewed the progress of our teams in 2016. Kevin O’Brien, accountant and club member, presented a very detailed financial report which showed the club to be in a healthy fiscal space despite the huge expenses involved in our participation in the 1916 Centenary celebrations. Kevin dealt competently with all queries and the members thanked him for once again putting his expertise at the disposal of the club. Tributes were paid to treasurer, John Mucahy and assistant treasurer, Michael Cahill who managed the club finances in a very a very professional and responsible manner. Chairman, Matt Cleary, in a typically inspiring and comprehensive address, thanked everybody who had worked for Kilruane MacDonaghs in 2016 and he outlined the challenges that the club would face in the new season.

The following were elected: Presidents, Tom Cleary, Paddy McCarthy, Tom McLoughney and Fr. Enda Burke; Vice-Presidents, Martin O’Meara, John Heenan, Carmel Daly and Joe McCarthy; Chairman, Matt Cleary; Vice-Chairman, Joe Whelan; Secretary, Mary McLoughney; Assistant Secretary/PRO, Gilbert Williams; Treasurer, John Mulcahy; Assistant Treasurer, Michael Cahill; Child Welfare Office, Yvonne O’Looney; Injury Claims Officer, Kay Cahalan; and North & County Board Delegate, Gilbert Williams. The club is adopting a new registration system in 2017, so it was decided to leave the election of registrar until the Adjourned AGM. It was also decided to defer the appointment of the ASAP Officer until clarification could be obtained on the precise duties involved in the role. The following managers were appointed: Senior hurling, Billy O’Shea with Shane McGrath as coach; Junior ‘A’ hurling, Paddy Williams; Under 21 hurling, Brian O’Meara; Minor hurling and football, Liam O’Kelly with Niall O’Meara as coach. All managers will name their selectors at the Adjourned AGM which will take place on Friday, 13th January.